Building Our Home

My son decided to help me out one day in November.

I recently bought a new Linnmon/Alex desk from Ikea it was reasonably priced and just the right size for my room.

Today my son offered to build it for me I was going to do it but he was so keen I accepted his offer.  He gathered some tools and emptied the box realised he needed more tools and soldiered on.  He spent some time making sure he had all the parts and then started to build.

He started regaling me about how “in terms of practical woodwork Ikea stuff is really easy because it’s basically all dowel joints” and then he schooled me in terms about different styles of joints and introduced me to the mortise gauge.

He knows I am writing about him he is intrigued in who actually reads these blogs.

We were talking how his desk is much bigger than my desk then I pointed out that I built it for him – he was actually surprised by that but decided it is only fair that he build mine, he is so funny.

Oops he knocked over the screws and dowels, his face said it all he quietly picked it all back up and carried on what a trouper.

He really has got this thing down.  I am so proud of him especially considering that he has the family sigh down pat, he has been a little quieter and less it’s the end of the world.  I can see that he is getting a tremendous amount of satisfaction out his accomplishment today.  He has finished the carcass and is now working on the drawers they are coming together quickly.

It is a pleasure watching him wield the old hammer that I got from my dad when I moved out all those years ago, I imagine that he may take it with him when he leaves although I am not sure if I will be ready to part with it then.

Sharon xo