Winter is Rolling in

The only problem about working from home in winter is you need to heat the place, especially here in Scotland.

Central Heating

I gave in.

I switched my heating on in the middle if November. Full disclosure it had been on part time for a month prior but it’s too cold now. I have been resisting this year because our winter is long and expensive. I am hoping for the odd sunny day so I can switch it off all be it briefly.

Coffee Shops

I am enjoying Hazelnut Praline Hot Chocolate and Spiced Cappuccino at Costa Coffee and the Pumpkin Spice and Toffee Nut Lattes at Starbucks. I normally stick to Americano’s but sometimes you need something else.

Snuggle Up

I snuggle up with my throw whilst I am in the living room either watching the tv or reading a book with a hot drink. My throws are a staple in our home and I have had the same three for many years, two in red and one in mink. I got them from Woolworths the year before it closed down. I sometimes think about changing them out, I just can’t they are too cosy to let go. I have my brushed cotton bedding as well and I am happy.

Clothes

Cuddly cardigans, cosy pullovers and socks, and my jeggings I bought some in a whim last year and am now obsessed with them. I have been digging out my hats and scarves and my purple M&Co duvet coat. I was putting on my ankle boots on for the first time since last year and found my missing glasses inside 🤓, it was so funny. I had searched the house and car high and low it never occurred to me they would be in my shoe rack. I had replaced them in the meantime so now I have spares!

Skincare

I am usually better with my skincare in winter because central heating really dries my skin out. I use plenty of moisturiser and face masks, I have recently come across gel eye masks they are brilliant.

Deicing

The annual ritual is beginning to come upon us meaning I have to get to the car earlier just in case which is no bad thing. Interestingly Tesco has released scented deicer we have apple spice there is a berry spice one too. I have bought a second scraper so the kid can help clear the screen at his request.

Dark nights

The only downside of winter is the dark nights that is when you have to go out it is a thought, I have many a friend who agrees. The rest of the time it’s perfectly fine because it encourages the cozy nights in with a movie.

Food

Soups, casseroles, chillis, baked potatoes, slow-cooking and roasts.

Candles

Just lovely scented candles. That is all.

Catch you later

cmx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.